Masters falls on Easter again


    The final round of the Masters falls on Easter Sunday for the 17th time.

    Today marks the 16th time the final round of the Masters has fallen on Easter.

    It happens on a regular basis because the Masters is played the first full week of April and because Easter falls on the Sunday after the paschal full moon, which always occurs between March 22 and April 25.

    Jimmy Demaret is the only person to win twice on Easter, and Arnold Palmer won his first Masters in 1958.

    Jack Nicklaus won an 18-hole playoff the day after Easter to become the first player to claim green jackets in consecutive years.

    Mark O'Meara and Phil Mickelson made birdies on the final hole to win on past Easters.

    Bernhard Langer and Zach Johnson are two of the more recent champions who won on Easter and have talked about their faith.

    Langer won his second green jacket in 1993, and Johnson overcame tough conditions to win his first major in 2007.

    Angel Cabrera won in 2009, the last time the final round occurred on Easter.

    Who will win in 2012? Tune in Sunday to find out.


    Year - Winner
1947 - Jimmy Demaret
1950 - Jimmy Demaret
1955 - Cary Middlecoff
1958 - Arnold Palmer
1966 - Jack Nicklaus*
1968 - Bob Goalby
1971 - Charles Coody
1974 - Gary Player
1977 - Tom Watson
1979 - Fuzzy Zoeller
1982 - Craig Stadler
1993 - Bernhard Langer
1998 - Mark O'Meara
2004 - Phil Mickelson

2007 – Zach Johnson

2009 – Angel Cabrera**
*won Monday playoff

** won sudden-death playoff




Race to the Top 50 deadline to reach Masters

With the Masters field size sitting at even-par 72 with the additions of rookie PGA Tour winners Smylie Kaufman and Emiliano Grillo, the next major expansion approaches as the end of the year draws near. Read more