Augusta National statement on Guan penalty | 2022 Masters Skip to main content
Breaking news
2 Rory McIlroy   -7 F
T3 Cameron Smith   -5 F
T3 Shane Lowry   -5 F
    Full Leaderboard
Posted April 12, 2013, 3:46 pm
BY |

Augusta National statement on Guan penalty

The Augusta National Golf Club released an official statement on the slow-play penalty assessment of Tianlang Guan. The 14-year-old Chinese amateur was given a one-shot penalty which led to him carding bogey on the 17th hole. From competition committees chairman Fred Ridley:

"Tianlang Guan was assessed a one-shot penalty for violation of Rule 6-7 of the Rules of Golf and the Tournament’s Pace of Play Policy.  His group, which included Ben Crenshaw and Matteo Manassero, was deemed out of position on No. 10.  Guan began being timed on Hole 12 and received his first warning on Hole 13 after his second shot.  In keeping with the applicable rules, he was penalized following his 2nd shot on the 17th hole when he again exceeded the 40 second time limit by a considerable margin."

Related story: Guan penalized for slow play